Welcoming a New Sponsor Part 2

This past week, in addition to my awesome sponsor, Omega Sports, I had the great honor of having three new sponsors sign up to help me on my way in this whole “walking the town” experience. I’m going to talk about them, but because I believe that they each deserve their own recognition, I’m going to write three different posts about them individually. I just think that’s fair. And, I’m going to write them in order that I’ll actually “use” their sponsorship.A6A81723-4F4C-438D-8564-4530C132C626.full

When we start our walking days, it’s to Mary’s Gourmet Diner, but once we’re loaded with carbs, we need to load up with caffeine and where do we go for that? Why, we walk south to 533 North Trade Street, to Atelier on Trade.

Atelier on Trade is the brainchild of Pablo del Valle, a local-man-done-good. Pablo, who used to own an all-ages night club downtown in the exact same spot he now has his bakery, decided he wanted to go to culinary school a few years back. But, he didn’t just go to any old culinary school, either. He received his Grand Diplôme from Le Cordon Bleu Paris as a full-on culinary artist. In just about everything, he’s a chef. But, his love is pastries and desserts. He says that’s where the “fun” is. Not just him making them but for the patrons eating them. Food is fun for me all the time, but if you really think about it, the dessert is always the treat. It’s always the part people look to in a dining experience.

It’s not just sweet, sugary things that he serves, either. Some of our favorite pastries are the savory ones. Some meat and provolone, bacon and mozzarella, you never know what you’re going to find. Well, that’s not exactly true. You can follow them on Instagram. They pretty much tell you what you’re going to find that day. But, while there are some standards that are there every day, many of them change every day. And, I am going to put this out there and I’d be happy to debate it with anyone, Pablo makes the absolute best cheesecake I have ever, ever had.

But, it’s not all dessert. Well, it is, but it’s not. What goes best with sweet (or savory) pastries? Coffee. Hot coffee, cold coffee, lattes, mochas, cafe au lait, anything. I prefer my coffee iced as I’m not a fan of many hot drinks, but Stephanie loves coffee of any kind. They use top-notch coffee in their drinks and they also carry a large line of hot teas, as well.

And, ambiance is something because I’ve been to Paris, twice and it really does remind you of a French boulangerie (French for bakery). And, just the word Atelier means studio or workshop. Pablo doesn’t think of his wares as food so much as works of art and this is the studio in which he produces his edible art. We are so proud to have him signed on as our “Caffeinator.”

You can find Atelier on Trade, again, at 533 N. Trade Street and on the web HERE. I promise you, you will not be disappointed in anything you have there. And… and this is a fairly big “and,” Pablo has one of the most righteous beards ever!  Thank you Pablo, for supporting our cause.

Leave a Reply

