Downtown WSNC June 11, 2016

Stephanie and I had hair appointments on Saturday morning and since we get the ‘dos did over on Burke Street, we decided that was “base” for this day’s walk. After the cut, we walked from the corner of Burke and Brookstown Avenue, north to Fourth Street and east until Trade Street. North on Trade to Mary’s Gourmet Diner between Seventh and 2016-06-11 13.13.14Eighth Streets to fuel up for our walk. From there we traveled back south to Atelier on Trade to have a little coffee to get us started back on our journey.

We traveled on south to Fifth Street where we walked west to Brookstown, in the West End. We turned northwest on Brookstown and up to Carolina Avenue where we turned northeast. We took Carolina to Summit Avenue, south and back to Fourth Street. Checking my Vivofit 3 I noticed I needed around 2500 more steps to reach my goal (10,000). So, instead of walking back to our car, we decided to continue on to get what we needed.

We walked east on Fourth until we got to Broad, where we turned north. We’d both always been curious about what was going on in the clandestinely plain buildings on 4 1/2 Street so we turned west down that way. It was really nothing to see but more nondescript buildings belonging, presumably, to Wells Fargo. When we reached Summit, we continued down until we came, again to Brookstown. We went to Burke Street and turned southwest, walked about 60 yards and turned back northeast, thus completing the 10,000 steps needed.

Along our walk through the middle and west side of WSNC, we stopped to observe the architecture, culture and history of our beautiful city. We looked at the various styles of the homes, many built around the 1920s, some older. We stopped in front of churches and 2016-06-14 12.07.21observed their majesty. We saw memorial gardens that honored the lives of those lost. This small area has so much history.

We ended up with over 11,000 steps walked. That was just shy of 6 miles. I burned over 3000 calories that day.

It was my first walking day wearing the new Brooks‘ shoes, Thorlo’s socks and sunglasses that Omega Sports sponsored me with, I was tired and sore but they were comfortable and I wasn’t overly fatigued. The Garmin Vivofit3 that they sponsored me with is how I registered my miles, steps and calories. I am thankful to Omega Sports for believing in me and what I have envisioned for the blog and future web series. If you’re going to be participating in any walking, running, team sports or just wanting to work out, Omega Sports is the place to get the equipment and implements of these activities.

Get to steppin’!

Leave a Reply

